Home > Life > Topcoder Return

Topcoder Return

It’s been a long while since I participated in a TopCoder algorithm contest. I decided to stop competing for 3 months during the final exams period of my last year in the college. I’ve also been so busy working on my graduation project.
I had completed my final exams and then discussed my graduation project on 20/06/2009.
Three days later, I got back to do another algorithm contest on TopCoder. I’ve been afraid that this long period of inactivity could have affect my performance badly especially because I was competing in Div I.
This contest had some circumstances that made it kinda a special one:

  • The contest was the first after 3 months of inactivity
  • The contest started at 4:00 AM
  • I woke up 10 mins before the contest
  • I had Petr in the same room of mine
  • I could solve the 300 problem faster than anytime before in Div I SRMs
  • After the contest, I had a new max. rating than ever before [1336] and ranked 15th on Egypt with this rating

A funny story in this match is that when I asked Petr about his solution to the 300 problem that seemed too long while mine was very short, This was the discussion between us:

Mindhunter74 > Petr: Does it really need all this code in the 300?
Mindhunter74 > Petr: Do I miss anything in my solution?
Petr > Mindhunter74: no 🙂
Petr > Mindhunter74: Your solution seems to be correct as well
Petr > Mindhunter74: I’m just too stupid

Petr is too stupid that makes him ranked first all over the world on Topcoder 😉
This my rating graph after this contest:

With this rating, I might hit the yellow area with a lucky next contest. But I do not think I’ll make it very soon, I have to work harder to make it to yellow and be able to stay there too.

Categories: Life
  1. Ahmed Aly
    June 30, 2009 at 12:09 AM

    First I want to say congratulations for your new max rate.
    And I wish to see you soon in yellow, and I wish to meet Petr in the same room (49 SRMs in DIV1 and I didn’t meet him yet :D).

  2. Mostafa Mahmoud Ahmed
    October 12, 2009 at 8:23 AM

    ياريت يا باشمهندس تعلمنى اعمل موقع زلى اللى انت عامله ده على الووردبريس
    وطريقة تركيبة الووردبريس على الايميل

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

