Home > Life > Challenge Failed, I succeeded

Challenge Failed, I succeeded

2 years ago and days before I’m enrolled in the department of Computer Engineering in my faculty, I had a big challenge with myself.

The challenge is very simple to describe, it’s being of rank 1 on that department. I had that dream and I promised myself to do my best to achieve that.

And here comes the day, 16/07/2009, where the challenge result is declared that I’m not that one of an overall grade of rank 1 on my department.

Of course I felt so sad towards that but the fact that this challenge gave me a lot of benefits made me think again about it and find that even if I failed to achieve it, I succeeded!

How did I succeed?

I had a rank of 5 when I first got into that department with a difference of 245 marks than that mark of rank 1.

In the 1st year in the department (Computer 3rd), I could make a big jump from the 5th place to the 2nd place after ranking 1st on that year being the only student with a grade of Excellent (1326/1500) in that year.

And in the second year which is the 5th and last year of college, I couldn’t make that big jump of the previous year, but I could be again ranked 1st on that year being again the only student with a grade of Excellent (1291/1500).

In short, I’ve been the only student who could get a grade of Excellent in the 3rd year and also in the 4th year of the Computer Department. I could reduce the difference between me and the first place from 245 to 69 and jump from the 5th place to the 2nd place.

On the other hand, I think I had some other achievements that make me think of success. I’ve been ranked 1st on TopCoder, Programming and Algorithms Contests website, during the last 3 years and could make it to blue which has been also a recent challenge.

I’ve also been to the ACM/ICPC ANARC 2008 Programming contest locally and regionally. That was the first time my faculty contributed in that contest and I believe we did a great job. BTW I should thank Abdullah Saad and Marwa Yusuf, my elder brother and sister and TA’s in the faculty, for being with me … I wouldn’t make it without you guys!

I was first employeed in my transition from the 3rd year to the 4th year as a Software Developer in Bedaya TV in the EMPC and had about 2 months in that job.

Finally, I have been elected by the faculty staff and IEEE members to be the IEEE Student Branch Chairman in my faculty in the last year. I had been involved in organizing a lot of activites and still working on some.

I’m not going to stop at this point. Life should be full of challenges, otherwise it’s of no use to live it.

Alhamdulillah for that result, I dedicate it to my dear mother … I’ll be a man of my word!

Categories: Life
  1. July 16, 2009 at 11:48 PM

    Congratulations Ahmed 🙂 You really made a great achievement 🙂 Wish you Best of Luck isA in all your next challenges 🙂

  2. Ahmad Hammad
    July 16, 2009 at 11:57 PM

    Congratulations Ahmad for these achievements but I want you to know something, your rank is the 1st over all the faculty students because you were the most helpful student for your colleagues and all other younger students as well

  3. July 17, 2009 at 12:09 AM

    regardless of the excellent achievements u accomplished ….. i just wanna tell u that the faculty rank makes no difference at all , and , it means nothing as well , u could get the highest rank ever and still u understand nothing _scientifically_ , and ur rank may not even b noticed , but still u r the most qualified person among ur colleagues ….. go on ya A7mad , u r 4 it man … and congratulations 🙂

  4. Abdelaziz
    July 17, 2009 at 12:52 AM

    Hello Moro 🙂
    We can say agreatest word in this situations

    Praises be to Allah

    I want to say little words

    in the next days you will have a greatest position in what ….. ? i don’t know

    Have fun . you are the one

  5. Mohamed Abdel Kader
    July 17, 2009 at 1:24 AM

    congratulations Ahmed, you did a great job regardless of the ranking & it is very enough that you were always helpful to every one around you, in my opinion that made you the 1st.

  6. July 17, 2009 at 2:11 AM

    I’m proud of you and to see this mentality

  7. Ahmed Ragab
    July 17, 2009 at 2:35 PM

    All of us are proud of you MORO

    be on your track and god bless you

    GOOD LUCK in your practical life .

  8. wageh elkholi
    July 17, 2009 at 2:50 PM

    fisrt. congratulations . u realy succedded as success begine from the point of the start . but i know that u have amore and more to achive .since the fist time i see u i know that u will be the best . please keep on . at the end i am also succeded that i have afriend like u. wahshneee kteeer moro

  9. kemko
    July 17, 2009 at 11:58 PM

    ولئن شكرتم لأزيدنكم
    وانت يا أحمد كنت بتزكي عن علمك بعملك .
    فكونك كنت عضد زمايلك وكنت في عونهم ربنا وفقك .
    وبحمدك ليه وازديادك في شكره
    هتكسب كل التحديات القادمة ان شاء الله
    أتمني لك ايمانا قويا لشخص قوي يؤثر بقوة وفعالية في من حوله . ويرفعه ربه مقاما محمودا في الدنيا والآخرة .
    أتمني ان تكون رجلا متواضعا يرجع الفضل لربه ولا يغريه الشيطان بنفسه فيسقط متلما سقط آخرون

  10. shahd
    August 1, 2009 at 12:35 PM

    Congratulations for your mother

    because you are her son .

  11. bedo31
    December 13, 2009 at 8:45 PM

    ربنا يبارك فيك ويحفظك يا احمد ويجازيك كل خير على فكره انا كنت واخده عنك فكره غلط وهى انك ” “من صورتك اللى فى المنتدى ولكن لما قدمت الخير بدون ما حد يسألك ودا لما قلت لنا على امتحان السنة اللى فاتت ل د مازن عرفت ان الناس مش بالصور وكمان بعد ما شفت الحاجات الجميلة اللى انت كاتبها

  12. ghada
    January 13, 2010 at 12:08 PM

    بجد
    مش هاقول غير ربنا يجازيك خير
    بجد تستحق ان الكلية كلها تبقى فخورة بوجودك فيها
    لانك متميز مش بس علما لكن انسانيا كمان “

  13. Helmi
    February 8, 2010 at 4:00 PM

    Definition:
    Moro <–= Someone you have to associate with, and i did, it wasn't a long period but its Okay for me..

    Man You Are Hero..

    http://en.tackfilm.se/?id=1265633909046RA85

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

